Cabbage, Noodles and Ham


This is a nice supper dish to make with leftover ham.  The recipe is adapted considerably from one in a cookbook called Quick Dishes for the Woman in a Hurry.

CABBAGE, NOODLES AND HAM

  • 1 Tblsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 4 cups shredded cabbage
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • Grinding of black pepper
  • 1 cup chopped cooked ham
  • 2 cups dry egg noodles, cooked and drained
  • 2 Tblsp. butter
  • 2 cups dry bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter a 9×9 pan.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium low heat; add onion and saute until soft.  Add cabbage and cook until tender, turning periodically.  A small amount of oil may be added if mixture starts to stick to the pan.  The time will depend on the type of cabbage – cook until it is tender.  Stir in the salt and pepper, the ham, and  the drained noodles.

Pour into buttered 9×9 baking dish.

In a small skillet, melt the butter and toss the crumbs lightly.  Sprinkle the crumbs on top of the noodle mixture.

Bake @ 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes until crumbs are light brown.  Serve with a dollop of sour cream.

4-6 servings

I have a note in my recipe binder, “First made July, 1994.  Excellent.  Adding ham was my idea.  David and I both loved it.”

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

7 thoughts on “Cabbage, Noodles and Ham”

    1. My daughter who lives with me doesn’t like cabbage at all and didn’t look enthusiastic when I told her what we were having, but she loved the dish. The cabbage is very mild. Lillian

  1. How do you think it would turn out if you baked it without the breadcrumb topping or not bake it at all? I love all the ingredients but not a huge fan of breadcrumbs.

    1. I think it would be great without the breadcrumbs and not baked – more like a stirfry. And I never thought about it being an irish dish, but you’re right – it has all the proper ingredients. Lillian

  2. Thanks so much for this one!! My sweet daughter is home for Spring break and she LOVES cabbage and I have some ham in the fridge!

Leave a comment