Civil War Quilt – Block 11 – London Square

This is block #11 in the Civil War block-of-the-week series offered by Barbara Brackman.  It is called London Square. Go to Barbara’s blog to get the pattern and to see the story and pictures related to the block.  I used a different procedure for cutting and sewing the half-square triangles B.

http://civilwarquilts.blogspot.com/2011/03/11-london-square.html

The only tricky thing about this block is keeping the pieces in order in the center section.  For new quilters, this is the way I assembled the block.  Use 1/4 inch seams throughout.

  • You will need four half-square triangles.  Cut 2 dark and 2 light pieces of fabric 2-7/8 x 2-7/8 inches.  Draw a line down the center from point to point on the light squares, place on top of the dark squares, right sides together, and stitch 1/4 inch from the drawn line on each side.

  • Cut on the drawn line, press to the dark fabric and trim tails.  These pieces should measure 2-1/2 x 2-1/2 inches.
  • For the remaining triangles B, cut 2 light and 2 medium pieces of fabric 2-7/8 x 2-7/8 inches.  Cut diagonally to make 4 triangles each of light and medium.  You will need 3 triangles of each for the block.
  • For triangles A, cut a dark square and a medium square 6-7/8 inches.  Cut each in half diagonally to form 2 triangles from each piece.  You will need 1 triangle from each piece for the block.
  • Lay the pieces out on a mat in the proper order.

  • Sew each of the sections together, referring to Barbara’s diagram.

  • Sew the four sections together, press and trim.  Piece should measure 2-1/4 inches wide x 12 inches long.

  • Sew the A triangles to the center section.  There should be 1/4 inch tails on each end as you are sewing.  Trim tails, press.  Piece should measure 8-1/2 x 8-1/2  inches.

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

10 thoughts on “Civil War Quilt – Block 11 – London Square”

    1. Thank you. This one worked out better as far as having the correct measurements without a lot of adjusting. Lillian

  1. My apologies for idiot typos in my last comment–my brain and my fingers don’t always coordinate. I meant to say that your blocks are always “so tidy.”
    I find I have to “squint” at a block sometimes to see a logical piecing sequence.
    Your tutorials are great for either a beginner or more advanced quilter.
    I got bogged down on #6, spending a lot of time trying to adjust seams for a correctly sized block–not the best use of my time at the sewing machine. I intend to continue with the project, but have decided not to use my collection of Kansas Troubles fabrics unless I’m sure the block will fit well. I do find this an interesting way of looking at Civil War history.
    Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting.

    1. Thank you for your comments – these blocks can be challenging because of the sketchy instructions, but I do love to see the stories and pictures each week. I feel like I know quite a bit about the Civil War, but I often find tidbits that I hadn’t heard before. Lillian

  2. Another great block and tutorial. That’s how I did my block also. I wasn’t 100% pleased with my seam intersections, but finally decided to accept it the way it was.

  3. I have not even looked at the new block and yours is finished. We were out working in the garden again today. Since I only have weekends with DH to work, there is little time to think of my quilting. I have only sat in the evenings crocheting this weekend but seeing your block makes me want to run into my studio. It turned out beautifully!

    Hugs from Holland ~
    Heidi

    1. Thank you. The block workd out pretty well this week without any “scant inching” or “fudging”. Lillian

  4. Once again, your math saved me. I got my block done today (in spite of doing the same piece wrong 4 times!), but only because you noted that the hst should finish at 2.5″. I would have been going crazy figuring that out. It isn’t that I’m not good with math, because generally I am, but all these blocks have driven me nuts. Thank you!

Leave a comment