It Was a Very Good Year – 1947 – 1953

On July 13, 2012, my two daughters surprised me with a big box of wrapped gifts, informing me it was exactly 80 days until my 80th birthday and I would be able to unwrap one gift a day.  The gift items would commemorate a year in my life in some way.  This is what I received this week.

1947A 1947 magazine article about the Cincinnati Reds’ star pitcher, Ewell Blackwell.  I’ve always been a baseball fan and was particularly devoted to the Reds in 1947.  As usual, we had a pretty poor team but then Ewell Blackwell came within two outs of consecutive no-hitters (I’ve never forgiven Eddie Stanky of the Brooklyn Dodgers for ruining that moment) and dazzled everyone that season.

1948 – A set of leaflets showing the wonderful hair styles that could be achieved with cold wave permanents.  I always had naturally curly hair and never needed a permanent, but I remember my mother and sister trying every means to having pretty hair – and they succeeded. 

1949 – A 1949 baby care book which I would have loved when I had my first child in 1954.  This is really interesting to me but there’s a bonus –

…there’s a letter from the old French Bauer Dairy in Cincinnati which I can add to my collection.

1950 – My youngest daughter copied 26 songs from the 1950s, chosen by my oldest daughter who remembers hearing a lot of them when she was growing up in the 50s.

1951 – A 1951 baseball card for Cincinnati Reds third-baseman, Grady Hatton.  Ewell Blackwell, mentioned above, was a super-star, but the one all the girls liked was Grady Hatton.  He was young, single, and handsome.  I’m sure he made the Ladies’ Days at old Crosley Field a lot more crowded than they normally would have been.

1952 – A special piece my oldest daughter made from an Altoid tin.  I was 20 in 1952 – not old enough to vote but I admired Dwight D. Eisenhower from World War II days.  The inside of the tin shows a picture of me showing off my I LIKE IKE pin.

I was more of an Eisenhower fan than I was a Republican and I was so thrilled when he won.  I posted about that 1952 election here.

1953 – My youngest daughter knit a great dusting mitt from a 1953 pattern.

Here is the link to my daughter’s blog for the pattern and information:

http://wardenslog.blogspot.com/2012/08/celebrating-80-yearswith-knit-dusting.html

All of my posts on this wonderful celebration are listed in Family – My 80th Birthday in my index on the right hand side of the page.

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

9 thoughts on “It Was a Very Good Year – 1947 – 1953”

  1. Such wonderful memorabilia to remember the years. i do remember a great many of those things, except for the Cincinnati Reds.Where I lived we were all Cleveland Indian fans and the first time I voted was in 1956, i voted for Ike. I was born in 1935. Your girls are so resourceful.

    1. You were born the same year as my little sister (who passed away in 2010). Naturally, you would have rooted for the Indians. I rooted for them in the 1948 World Series, mostly because they had the cutest pitcher – I don’t recall his name now. Lillian

  2. I love all these great gifts. Every week, I’m more and more impressed by their thoughtfulness and creativity. I love that dusting mitt! Not that I dust much. =)

  3. Your daughters are just the best! This is the sweetest idea for your birthday. I am enjoying seeing what they found for you to celebrate.

    Off soon to see your daughter’s blog but first I have a lot to catch up on with you.

    Hugs from Holland ~
    Heidi

  4. The dusting mitt is perfect – I hate using things that I need to throw away and currently use washclothes with some lemon spray. Makes the house smell great. I don’t knit but I wonder if I can get my great aunt to make me one…

    1. I assume you saw the link to the pattern on this post. My daughter had used the same pattern last year to make a bath mitt (without the dusting loops), which I also love. Lillian

Leave a comment