For my birthday, a friend gave me a Reds messenger bag and a great T-shirt.

The shirt is very special to me because on the back is “Applegate – 80” (my maiden name and my age).  I haven’t used the Applegate name for over 60 years.  The shirt is the right size but was cut in a way that it would even be snug on my skinny 9-year-old granddaughter.   I really wanted to wear this shirt for the Reds’ playoff games and had to quickly come up with a way I could keep all of the key elements but have it in a comfortable size.

I had a new T-shirt that was about two sizes too big and used one of my tried and true patterns to trim the sides and to trim down the sleeves.

I cut the side seams of the Reds shirt ….

… then lay it on top of the white  shirt and pinned at the shoulder, down the center and around the neckband.

I drew a chalk line, allowing for a ½ inch seam, from the shoulder to the bottom of the front and back on each side and trimmed along that line.

I turned under the ½ inch allowance and top stitched the red shirt to the white one.  Then, I  VERY carefully trimmed away the center white portion front and back.

I sewed the side seams, sewed in the sleeves, sewed the hem and the shirt was finished.

Now, I have my shirt ready to wear and watch the Reds win the playoffs (sorry, St. Louis granddaughters).