025

My daughter gave me a vintage cosmetic bag that she thought I might be able to use as an idea for bags I could make to use for cosmetics, small sewing items, little gifts, etc.

023

The bag opened out into sections and looked fairly easy to duplicate.

024

It’s basically multiple bags of the same size, lined and finished with a narrow facing.  One bag has a flap and serves as the base.  The remainder of the bags are stitched to each other to form an accordion-like feature.

026

I made five bags of varying sizes and thought the idea worked out pretty well.  For one bag that I particularly liked, I made a matching small gift tote of the same fabrics and will be using the two pieces to hold an anniversary gift for my younger daughter in a couple of weeks.

027

I’m thinking about expanding the pattern to make a larger three-section tote bag.  More on this later.