DeeDee’s Turkey (or Chicken) Salad with Fresh Cranberries

TurkeyCran (1)

My daughter-in-law in St. Louis sent me a recipe for using up my leftover Thanksgiving turkey and we all loved it.  This salad combines sweetened, orange-flavored fresh cranberries and crisp almonds to dress up some leftover turkey.

Since I used up all the turkey to make the salad right after Thanksgiving, I thought I’d make another batch for dinner today using chicken breast.  It was delicious.  It’s a very easy recipe to put together and makes wonderful sandwiches.  Her recipe called for wheat bread slices, but I had some good bakery dinner rolls on hand and they worked well, too.

Make up the cranberry mixture and refrigerate a couple of hours ahead of time to get the best flavor.

Dee-Dee’s Turkey (or Chicken) Salad with Fresh Cranberries

½ cup fresh cranberries
¼ cup granulated sugar
2 Tblsp. orange juice
1 Tblsp. grated orange zest
2 cups cooked turkey (or chicken breast), chopped
2 Tblsp. parsley, chopped
2 green onions, tops and tender green parts, sliced
¾ cup mayonnaise
Salt/pepper to taste
¼ cup slivered almonds, toasted
4 wheat bread slices, dinner rolls or bread of your choice
4 large red-leaf lettuce leaves

In a food processor with metal blade, process cranberries with sugar, orange juice and orange zest, using on-off pulses until coarsely chopped.  Transfer mixture to a bowl, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate several hours.

In a medium bowl, combine turkey, parsley, green onions, mayonnaise and salt/pepper.  Mix well and refrigerate until ready to serve.  At serving time, stir the cranberry mixture and almonds into the turkey/chicken mixture and spoon onto bread slices.  Top with lettuce.  Makes 4-6 servings.

TurkeyCran (2)

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

9 thoughts on “DeeDee’s Turkey (or Chicken) Salad with Fresh Cranberries”

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I wish you a Merry Christmas. Thanks for all the joy you bring to your blog followers

  2. I’m so glad you gave us this recipe! I just took a big ol’ turkey out of the smoker for tomorrow night and we won’t eat it all – so I’m making this with pecans instead of almonds but the rest of the recipe sounds incredible!!

  3. That looks delicious. I buy chicken breasts from Zaycon and can some/freeze some. Well Stacey cans mine for me, but you know. Anyway, this looks like a great way to serve some of those chicken meals. I love chicken salads, and I love cranberries.

  4. I wanted to wish you a happy holidays and happy new year, Lillian! This recipe looks amazing! I love chicken salad!

Leave a comment