Linus14-top

I’ve been donating quilts to the Greater Cincinnati Linus Project since I first started quilting 11 years ago.  Most of the donations (4 to 5 a year) have been twin size, but I’ve been having back problems which ruled out making anything that large.  I thought maybe I could handle making a smaller quilt and wanted to use some of the red, white and blue scraps I’ve accumulated.  I chose a simple pinwheel pattern and sized it to make a 9-1/2 finished block.

linus14-block (2)

Our Linus group prefers fleece rather than backing fabric and batting.  I chose a bright red fleece and made the binding from strips of the red scrap material.

Linus14-bind

I didn’t add a border and used very simple straight line quilting on my Bernina.  The quilt finished at 30×40 inches – a nice size for a young child to carry around.